The shortlists for the 21st Forward Prizes for Poetry, some of the most sought after accolades for both established

and emerging poets, are announced today, Tuesday 17 July 2012. Demonstrating the rich variety of poetry being written

in English, they include some of the most celebrated poets from around the world, as well the most confident and

original voices from an abundant crop of emerging talent.


The shortlists are:

The Forward Prize for Best Collection.

 £10,000 - sponsored by the Forward Arts Foundation

Beverley Bie Brahic  White Sheets (CB Editions)

Jorie Graham  P L A C E  (Carcanet Press)

Barry Hill  Naked Clay: Drawing from Lucian Freud (Shearsman Books)

Geoffrey Hill  ODI BARBARE (Clutag Press)

Selima Hill  People Who Like Meatballs (Bloodaxe Books)


The Felix Dennis Prize for Best First Collection

 £5,000 - sponsored by Felix Dennis and the Forward Arts Foundation

Loretta Collins Klobah  The Twelve-Foot Neon Woman (Peepal Tree Press)

Rhian Edwards  Clueless Dogs (Seren)

Lucy Hamilton  Stalker (Shearsman Books)

Sam Riviere  81 Austerities (Faber and Faber)

Jacob Sam-La Rose  Breaking Silence (Bloodaxe Books)


The Forward Prize for Best Single Poem in memory of Michael Donaghy

£1,000 - sponsored by the Forward Arts Foundation

Greta Stoddart  Deep Sea Diver (Magma Poetry)

Denise Riley  A Part Song (London Review of Books)

Michael Longley Marigolds, 1960 (London Review of Books)

John Kinsella Mea Culpa: Cleaning the Gutters (The Warwick Review)

Marilyn Hacker Fugue on a line of Amr bin M'ad Yakrib (The Wolf Magazine)


The judging panel for the Forward Prizes for Poetry 2012 is chaired by Leonie Rushforth, a poet and teacher

who was a Forward Prize judge last year . She is joined by fellow poets Ian McMillan and Alice Oswald, along

with Emma Hogan, a literary critic who writes on poetry for The Economist amongst others, and Megan Walsh,

feature writer, assistant editor and critic on The Times Saturday Review.


Leonie Rushforth comments: "We were very impressed by the quality and variousness of the work submitted to us for

consideration, and especially delighted by the standard of this year's first collections. There was no obvious route to the

shortlists (recurrence of the surname Hill notwithstanding) - we have had to let go of many excellent collections in the process.

The lists we have agreed reflect the wonderful range of poetries being written in English today and we are looking forward

to finding the winners from them."


William Sieghart, Chairman of the Forward Arts Foundation, comments: "That so many excellent collections and poems did not

make the shortlists is testament to the volume of quality poetry which is being published today. The diversity and originality of the

judges' selection suggests that it may well be a vintage year."


The winners of the Forward Prizes will be announced on Wednesday 3 October, the eve of National Poetry Day, at a ceremony in

Somerset House, London. The Forward Book of Poetry 2013, an anthology of poems from this year's Prizes highly commended by

the judges, will also be published on the same day.