Get Adobe Flash player

Magma Poetry Competition 2013 (deadline Dec 12th)

Magma Poetry Competition

Magma Poetry is pleased to announce details of the 2013 Competition.

The entry period opens on 16 October 2013 and closes on 12 December 2013. The competition has two contests


Magma Judge’s Prize

For a poem of 13 to 80 lines. All poem entries of 13 to 80 lines will be entered for the Judge’s Prize which this year

will be judged by award-winning poet Philip Gross. Philip Gross is Professor of Creative Writing at the University of

Glamorgan. He won the 2009 T S Eliot Prize with The Water Table (Bloodaxe) and the 2010 Wales Book of the Year

award with I Spy Pinhole Eye (Cinnamon).

First Prize £1,000

Second Prize £300

Third Prize £150


Magma Editors’ Prize

This celebrates the short poem and is open to poems of up to 12 lines. The Magma Editors’ Prize reflects the magazine’s

unique rotating editorship and poems of up to 12 lines will be judged by a panel of Magma Editors who will select a

range of poems for ‘special mentions’ as well as choosing first and second prize winners.

First prize £1,000

Second Prize £300

Plus 10 Special Mentions £15 each


As part of the prize, all 15 winners will have their poems published in our Spring Issue 2014 and be invited to read alongside Philip Gross

at Magma’s prize-giving event early next year.

The 15 winning poems from the 2012 competition are published in Magma 55 and were celebrated in front of an enthusiastic audience at

RADA’s Studio Theatre in February this year.

For full competition details click here