Get Adobe Flash player

Dennis O’Driscoll’s final collection Dear Life has won this year’s Irish Times Poetry Now Award

Dennis O’Driscoll’s final collection Dear Life has won this year’s Irish Times Poetry Now Award.

The poet died last December and the award will be presented to his widow, Julie O’Callaghan,

at 1pm in County Hall, Dún Laoghaire, Co Dublin.

This year’s shortlist, chosen by judges Peter Sirr, Ruth Webster, and Mary O’Donnell, included

Harry Clifton’s The Winter Sleep of Captain Lemass (Bloodaxe Books), Catherine Phil MacCarthy’s

The Invisible Threshold and Mark Roper’s A Gather of Shadow (both Dedalus Press ) and

James Harpur’s Angels and Harvesters (Anvil Press ).


For full article click here